Project Cocina de Camilla #1.5: Homemade Potato Strips

On my Project Cocina de Camilla #1, I said that I have a plan on what kind of slice I’ll do the next time I make homemade potato chips. So…

TADA!!!

I used my mandolin slicer’s blade that produces julienne cut to make potato strips! 😀

Homemade Potato Strips

My family and I loved the thinner and smaller slices I accidentally created on my first try of homemade potato chips because they were a lot crispier. And so I thought, “Heeeeeyyyy, maybe I should deliberately make thinner and smaller slices of the potatoes for that consistent crispiness.” So with that, I thought of turning the chips into strips, and the rest is history. 😛

 

The Essentials and the Expenses

Since this was my second try, I already have all the other essentials for this project, except for the potatoes, of course, so this experiment was really light on my budget.

Essential #1: 100-peso worth of potatoes
Price: 100 pesos from the public market

 Essential #2: Peanut Oil
Price: N/A, readily available at home

 Essential #3: Mandolin Slicer
Price: N/A, readily available at home

Essential #4:  Kitchen Towel
Price: N/A, readily available at home

Essential #5: 2 cooking pots
Price: N/A, readily available at home

Essential #6: 1 strainer
Price: N/A, readily available at home

Essential #7: 1 container for the finished chips
Price:  N/A, readily available at home

Essential #8: Iodized salt
Price: N/A, readily available at home

Total Project Expenses: 100 pesos

 

Preparing and Cooking the Potato Strips
The directions here were obviously the same with Project Cocina de Camilla #1 except for the cut and the stupidity I made with my previous in which I put the cooked potatoes on a strainer first before finally transferring them to a container filled with kitchen towels (That was totally unnecessary, a waste of time, and embarrassing!).

Regarding the julienne cut, I realized that it took more effort and strength to achieve it using the mandolin slicer since unlike on the chips which only required horizontal cut, the julienne cut for the strips had both the horizontal and the vertical at the same time, so it was like more than five blades working on the same potato but different parts. Well, in spite of that, at least now, I was wiser enough to use the protective holder so there weren’t any blood dripping from my thumb the whole time I did the exhausting slicing of the potatoes. That was a nice change there. YEY! HAHA.

 

So what’s my verdict for Project Cocina de Camilla #1.5: Homemade Potato Strips? Another SUCCESS, of course! 🙂

 

The only mistake I did was because the strips were cooked in three batches, the last got burned a bit because at that time, the oil was already really, really hot, thus, the strips on it tasted quite bitter. Good thing the strips on the third were only few so it didn’t affect the whole bunch. Anyway, that’s another thing I learned: Be careful on the last batch if there’s any. 😛

What can you say about this post? :)

